Birmingham, USA | July 7 - 17, 2022

Ecuador and Ukraine Admitted as Newest Members of Federation of International Lacrosse

todayOctober 8, 2018

October 8, 2018

NEW YORK, N.Y. — The Federation of International Lacrosse and its board of directors are proud to announce the admittance of Ecuador and Ukraine as its newest members.

The addition of Ecuador and Ukraine will bring the number of member nations in the FIL to 62 countries. Ecuador adds another South American country after additions of Argentina (2002), Chile (2017), Colombia (2013) and Peru (2012). Ukraine joins Bulgaria (2008), Estonia (2013), Latvia (2004), Serbia (2010), Slovakia (2004), Russia (2011), and Turkey (2010) as members nations in the eastern European region.

“The nations of Ecuador and Ukraine are exciting additions to our member organization,” said FIL President Susan Redfern. “We have growing presence in South America and Eastern Europe continues to add strength to an already strong region. FIL continues to grow at a rapid pace as the world discovers the dynamic game of Lacrosse, which we believe is built for modern times.”

FIL’s member nation growth from 2002 to 2018 has been 233%. FIL began in 1972 with  five member nations. The recent World Championships in Netanya, Israel in July 2018 saw a record 46 countries compete. The United States defeated Canada on a last-second goal to win the World Championship.

“In line with our long-term plans for growth, as an organization, we will continue to aggressively pursue international member nation expansion,” said FIL CEO Jim Scherr. “We see the germination of new clubs on all continents now. Our goal is to continue to strengthen our member organizations and network our community globally to support the growth of our game.”

## ##

Media Contact:
Jim Scherr, CEO
Phone: 719. 330.4029
Email: [email protected]

About the FIL

The Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) is the international governing body for men’s and women’s lacrosse. The FIL currently has 60 member nations and holds five World Championships: Men’s Lacrosse World Championship; Under-19 Men’s Lacrosse World Championship; Men’s World Indoor Lacrosse Championship; Women’s Lacrosse World Cup; and Under-19 Women’s Lacrosse World Championship. Each event is held on a quadrennial basis. The FIL is responsible for the governance and integrity of all forms of lacrosse and provides responsive and effective leadership to support the sports’ development throughout the world.

Previous post